Gold Star Student Teacher Awards 2023

Highlighting the achievements of student teachers who are developing their RfP practice

This is the sixth year we have given Awards to Gold Star Student Teacher Examples of Practice. The judges, Teresa Cremin, Lizzie Greeley, Helen Hendry and Laurel Smith considered all the Examples of Practice that had been uploaded by Student Teachers to the RfP website in 2023. They were delighted with the standard of these and the determined and enthusiastic ways student teachers had read the research, evaluated and then enriched their own knowledge and practice. These young professionals are worth watching! The following criteria were applied:

  • That the student teacher had enriched their knowledge and understanding through engaging with the Teachers as Readers research about developing children’s reading for pleasure;
  • That the student teacher had developed research informed practice that built on this;
  • That their development work had made an impact, usually, although not always, on children‘s reading for pleasure;
  • That it was an innovative piece of work;
  • That the Example of Practice was visually engaging and professionally presented.

The Winners are:

Gold Reading for Pleasure Award

Chris Worrall & Rachael Campbell – Liverpool John Moores University – Teachers as Readers

Silver Reading for Pleasure Award

Phoebe Matthews, Lauren Donachie & Megan Dowie – University of Glasgow – Building confidence with children’s literature as student teachers

Bronze Reading for Pleasure Award

Kate Fitzpatrick & Lucy Rowland – University of Greenwich – Treat yo’ shelf

Highly Commended

Rosie Hogg, Imogen McNally, Claudia Hargreaves & Marieta Mikulevic – University of Manchester – Expanding Teachers’ Knowledge of Children’s Literature to Foster a Love for Reading in Primary Schools

Highly Commended

Celia Davis & Jess Barrens – Leeds Trinity University – Reading 4 Pleasure – Student Teachers

Highly Commended

Lisa Hall & Lauren Gray – Bishop Grosseteste University – Developing student teachers’ knowledge of children’s authors

Congratulations to all these student teachers and to their University tutors who supported their journeys as pedagogues and readers. Prizes are on the way!


More Awards

Little Rebels Book Awards 2023

The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award, now in its 11th year, recognises children’s fiction (for readers aged 0-12) which promotes social justice or social equality,

The Week Junior Book Awards 2023 2023 sees the inaugural year of The Week Junior Book Awards sponsored by Bookily from National Book Tokens. Set up to “celebrate the brilliant

YA Book Prize 2023

The YA Book Prize launched in 2014 to award a YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Organised by book