The Farshore Reading For Pleasure 2023 Award Winners

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), celebrate how teachers have found innovative ways to inspire reading for pleasure in the classroom.

Each year since its launch in 2017, the awards have revealed the determination and passion of teachers to get children reading. The teachers who entered the 2023 awards were just as passionate and continued to display inventiveness in original and surprising ways.

This year’s entries saw teachers at schools across the length and breadth of the UK united in a mission to get children and their families reading.

Award winners 2023:

Community Reading Champion:

Kiran Satti, Wallbrook Primary Academy, Dudley
Pupil Voice and Choice

Experienced Teacher:

Katy Bland, Spotland Primary School, Rochdale
Navigating Reading

Early Career Teacher:

Janay Brazier, Braiswick Primary School, Colchester
Just One More Chapter

Whole School (joint winners):

Fern Pithers, Warren Primary Academy, Nottingham
Making connections with our community through a love of reading

Christopher Harrison, Grove Road Community Primary School, Harrogate
Windows, Mirrors and Sliding Glass Doors

More Awards

Little Rebels Book Awards 2023

The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award, now in its 11th year, recognises children’s fiction (for readers aged 0-12) which promotes social justice or social equality,

The Week Junior Book Awards 2023 2023 sees the inaugural year of The Week Junior Book Awards sponsored by Bookily from National Book Tokens. Set up to “celebrate the brilliant

YA Book Prize 2023

The YA Book Prize launched in 2014 to award a YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Organised by book