Oscar’s Book Prize 2023

Oscar’s Book Prize is an annual prize for the best under-fives book of the year.

The prize is awarded in memory of Oscar Ashton and in partnership with Amazon and the Evening Standard.

Details of previous winners can be found here http://www.oscarsbookprize.co.uk/winners.


The Oscar’s Book Prize 2023 shortlist is as follows:

Billy and the Pirates by Nadia Shireen (Penguin Random House – Children’s Puffin)

Can I Play? by Nicola Kinnear (Alison Green – Scholastic)

Frank and Bert by Chris Naylor Ballesteros (Nosy Crow)

Teapot Trouble: A Duck and Tiny Horse Adventure by Morag Hood (Two Hoots)

The Gecko and the Echo by Rachel Bright and Jim Field (Hachette Children’s Group – Orchard)

The Boy with Flowers in His Hair by Jarvis (Walker Books)


Winner: The Boy with Flowers in His Hair by Jarvis (Walker Books)

David is the boy with flowers in his hair. He’s sweet and gentle, just like his petals and is part of a happy diverse accepting classroom. But then “ something happens” – a trauma we assume and David’s flowers begin to fall and he wears a hat to disguise his difference.  But his best friend never leaves his side. And through kindness and creativity, by making paper flowers and getting everyone to join in, he finds a way to give David his colour back. A beautiful tale about friendship and being there for someone when they are at their most vulnerable.


More Awards

The British Book Awards 2023

First launched in 1990 and now run by The Bookseller, the British Book Awards seek to showcase and celebrate the best books, the best bookshops

Farshore Awards 2023 – now open!

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), are now open for entries.