Farshore Awards 2023 – now open!

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), are now open for entries. The Awards celebrate how teachers have found innovative ways to inspire reading for pleasure in the classroom.

The Award winners will be announced on Wednesday 18th October 2023 at the OU/UKLA Reading for Pleasure conference (or online) with the winner from each category receiving Farshore books to the value of £250 and 20 copies of Help Your Child Love Reading by Alison David.

Submit your case study for an opportunity to be recognised by experts in children’s reading for pleasure. Download the flyer here for entry criteria, and how to submit.

Award Categories

  • Early Career Teacher (0-3 years in teaching)
  • Experienced Teacher (3 years plus)
  • Whole School
  • School Reading Champion (e.g. Librarians/other educators)
  • Community Reading Champion (immediate and/or wider community, from local area to local authority)

The Reading for Pleasure Awards 2023 will be judged by:

  • Joy Court, Co-founder: All Around Reading
  • Teresa Cremin, Professor of Education, The Open University
  • Alison David, Consumer Insight Director, Farshore
  • Fiona Evans, Head of Schools Programmes, NLT
  • Cally Poplak, Executive Publisher, HCCB and Farshore
  • David Reedy, UK Literacy Association
  • J.T. Williams, Children’s author

DEADLINE: Midnight on Monday 5th June 2023.

ENTRIES: All entries to be marked ‘Submission for Farshore RfP award’ and submitted to https://ourfp.org/share-your-practice/

Good luck! We can’t wait to read your submissions.

More Awards

YA Book Prize 2023

The YA Book Prize launched in 2014 to award a YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Organised by book

The Branford Boase Award 2023

The Branford Boase Award was set up in memory of outstanding author Henrietta Branford and her editor Wendy Boase of Walker Books, who both died

The Yoto Carnegies 2023

The Yoto Carnegies are the UK’s longest running and best-loved children’s book awards, recognising outstanding reading experiences created through writing and illustration in books for

Clippa 2023

CLiPPA (Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award) is the only award for published poetry for children in the UK. A Schools Shadowing Scheme  is