The Farshore Reading For Pleasure 2022 Award Winners

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2022, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), celebrate how teachers have found innovative ways to inspire reading for pleasure in the classroom.

Each year since its launch in 2017, the awards have revealed the determination and passion of teachers to get children reading. The teachers who entered the 2022 awards were just as passionate and continued to display inventiveness in original and surprising ways.

This year’s entries saw teachers at schools across the length and breadth of the UK united in a mission to get children and their families reading.

Award winners 2022:

Community Reading Champion:

Amanda Hanton, Leicestershire County Council The Virtual School
My Books, My Story!

School Reading Champion:

Lucas Maxwell, Glenthorne High School, Sutton
The Bookling Book Award

Experienced Teacher:

Amy Greatrex, South Wilford Endowed C of E Primary School, Nottingham
Reading Rivers

Whole School (joint winners):

Georgie Lax, Starcross Primary, Exeter, Devon
The Girls, the Boys, the Mole and the University

Claire Nelson, Cheadle Catholic Infant School, Cheadle
Widening Children’s Experiences of Authors

Highly commended 2022:

Experienced Teacher:

Sarah Bell, The Holt Primary School, Skellingthorpe, Lincoln
Inspired to Read

More Awards

Little Rebels Book Awards 2023

The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award, now in its 11th year, recognises children’s fiction (for readers aged 0-12) which promotes social justice or social equality,

The Week Junior Book Awards 2023 2023 sees the inaugural year of The Week Junior Book Awards sponsored by Bookily from National Book Tokens. Set up to “celebrate the brilliant