School Library Association – The Information Book Award 2021

The Information Book Award is an annual event, in its tenth year, and is a major development for information books, being designed to support school libraries and to reinforce the importance of non-fiction whilst highlighting the high standard of resources available.

Each year the shortlist in three age categories, under 7s,8-12 and 13-16, is announced and Peters Bookselling Services support the award by supplying discounted packs of the short listed titles as an offer to schools. Resources from the SLA are available to accompany the Award including useful guides, lesson plans and templates to help schools and reading groups work with Information Books.

Children are invited to vote for their favourite book in the “Children’s Choice” voting. Each section will have a winner, chosen by the panel of experienced librarians, as well as a Children’s Choice winner. Full details of the 2021 shortlists of outstanding information books can be found on the School Library Association website.

More Awards

YA Book Prize 2023

The YA Book Prize launched in 2014 to award a YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Organised by book

The Branford Boase Award 2023

The Branford Boase Award was set up in memory of outstanding author Henrietta Branford and her editor Wendy Boase of Walker Books, who both died

The Yoto Carnegies 2023

The Yoto Carnegies are the UK’s longest running and best-loved children’s book awards, recognising outstanding reading experiences created through writing and illustration in books for

Clippa 2023

CLiPPA (Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award) is the only award for published poetry for children in the UK. A Schools Shadowing Scheme  is