The British Book Awards 2022

First launched in 1990 and now run by The Bookseller, the British Book Awards seek to showcase and celebrate the best books, the best bookshops and the best publishers.

Nicknamed The Nibbies, they are unique in recognising that a book’s success is not down to just one factor. It is the author’s creative genius, it is the publisher’s skill and support and it is the bookshop’s championing. The Nibbies’ Books of the Year are unapologetically about success but not ‘just’ who is top of the bestseller lists.

There are categories for bookshops, publishers and agents as well as:

Book of the Year – Audiobook; Book of the Year – Children’s: Fiction; Book of the Year – Children’s: Illustrated & Non-Fiction; Book of the Year – Fiction; Book of the Year – Fiction: Crime & Thriller; Book of the Year – Fiction: Début; Book of the Year – Non-fiction: Lifestyle; Book of the Year – Non-fiction: Narrative;  Author of the Year; Illustrator of the Year

Winner- Children’s Non-Fiction and Overall Book of the Year

You Are a Champion: How to Be the Best You Can Be by Marcus Rashford and Carl Anka. ISBN: 978-1529068177 (Macmillan)

The nation’s favourite footballer’s inspirational guide to life is packed with practical advice that he wished he could have had as a child. Conversational enough for the reluctant reader, but actually packed full of top-flight sports psychology and  wry wisdom.  The judges loved You Are a Champion’s “warm, inspirational” tone, combined with Rashford’s accessible definition of success..

 Winner-Children’s: Fiction

When the Sky Falls by Phil Earle. ISBN: 978-1783449651 (Andersen)

Also winner of the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Children’s Fiction, Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and The Times Children’s Book of the Year 2021. A stunning and emotional story set in WW2 with themes of bereavement, dyslexia, impact of war, love, friendship and family.


Winner-Children’s: Illustrated

Hey You!: An empowering celebration of growing up Black . Dapo Adeola et al

This groundbreaking picture book, written by award-winning illustrator Dapo Adeola guides the reader through a series of situations where they might encounter prejudice, and shows how to form strategies to overcome a situation before it becomes a problem. The clever and witty illustrations are by 18  of the most exciting Black illustration talents working today.

The judges felt Hey You!’s “innovative, emotional” philosophy went beyond the page, inspiring creativity in a stream of new artists. As one judge commented: “This book is the start of a movement.”



More Awards

YA Book Prize 2023

The YA Book Prize launched in 2014 to award a YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Organised by book

The Branford Boase Award 2023

The Branford Boase Award was set up in memory of outstanding author Henrietta Branford and her editor Wendy Boase of Walker Books, who both died

The Yoto Carnegies 2023

The Yoto Carnegies are the UK’s longest running and best-loved children’s book awards, recognising outstanding reading experiences created through writing and illustration in books for

Clippa 2023

CLiPPA (Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award) is the only award for published poetry for children in the UK. A Schools Shadowing Scheme  is