Oscar’s Book Prize 2022

Oscar’s Book Prize is an annual prize for the best under-fives book of the year.

The prize is awarded in memory of Oscar Ashton and in partnership with Amazon, the Evening Standard and the National Literacy Trust.

Details of previous winners can be found here http://www.oscarsbookprize.co.uk/winners


The Oscar’s Book Prize 2022 shortlist is as follows:

Barbara Throws a Wobbler by Nadia Shireen (Puffin, PRH Children’s),

The Pet: Cautionary Tales for Children and Grown-ups by Catherine Emmett and David Tazzyman (Macmillan Children’s Books),

The Duck Who Didn’t Like Water by Steve Small (Simon & Schuster Children’s Books),

The Fire Fox by Alexandra Page and Stef Murphy (Two Hoots, Macmillan Children’s Books)

I’m Sticking With You Too by Smriti Halls and Steve Small (Simon & Schuster Children’s Books).

Maybe by Chris Haughton ( Walker Books)

 Winner: Maybe. Chris Haughton

ISBN: 978-1529503982 (Walker Books)

Illustrated in the strong vibrant colours and bold shapes which are his trademark, this is a fun-filled cautionary tale about pushing the boundaries and learning life lessons which readers young and old will find irresistible

More Awards

Farshore Awards 2023 – now open!

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), are now open for entries.