Please note you are using an unsupported web browser – please consider using

COSTA Children’s Book Awards 2021

The COSTA Children's Book Award is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books.

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK’s most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.


The Crossing by Manjeet Mann (Penguin. ISBN: 978-0241411445,£7.99)

Narrated in verse by two characters from opposite ends of the world, Nat and Sammy. Nat’s mother has died, and her brother marches the streets of Dover full of hate. Sammy is an Eritrean refugee on a perilous journey. Beautifully crafted and profound, this is a story of hope amidst grief and the real-life dangers, brutality and exploitation that refugees face.

Other Shortlisted titles were:

Maggie Blue and the Dark World by Anna Goodall (Guppy Books ISBN: 978-1913101336, £7.99)

The Midnight Guardians by Ross Montgomery (Walker Books ISBN: 978-1406391183, £7.99)

The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh by Helen Rutter (Scholastic,ISBN: 978-0702300851, £6.99)

More Awards

Waterstones Book Prize 2022

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize is an annual award given to a work of children’s literature published during the previous year.

Blue Peter Awards 2022

Announced in a special edition of Blue Peter, the 2022 winners of The Best Story and The Best Book of Facts were voted for by hundreds of primary school children around the UK, after shortlists had been drawn up by a panel of judges.