Please note you are using an unsupported web browser – please consider using

Gold Star Student Teacher Awards 2021

Highlighting the achievements of student teachers who are developing their RfP practice

This is the fourth year we have given Awards to Gold Star Student Teacher Examples of Practice.

The judges, Teresa Cremin, Isabel MacDonald, and Helen Hendry considered all the Examples of Practice that had been uploaded by Student Teachers to the RfP website in 2021. They were delighted with the standard of these and the determined and enthusiastic ways student teachers had read the research, evaluated and then enriched their own knowledge and practice. These young professionals are worth watching!

They following criteria were applied:

  • That the student teacher had enriched their knowledge and understanding through engaging with the Teachers as Readers research about developing children’s reading for pleasure;
  • That the student teacher had developed research informed practice that built on this;
  • That their development work had made an impact, usually, although not always, on children‘s reading for pleasure;
  • That it was an innovative piece of work;
  • That the Example of Practice was visually engaging and professionally presented.

The Winners are:

Gold Reading for Pleasure Award

Caroline Jones – Bishop Grosseteste University

We’re going on a Book Hunt

Silver Reading for Pleasure Award

Sarah Devitt and Alyssia Paraskeva – University of Greenwich

Reading is dreaming with open eyes

Bronze Reading for Pleasure Award

Sarah Finlay, Terri Stanton and John McClean – University of Greenwich

Every child in every page

Highly Commended

Hibah Atef, Khadija Zaheer and Madina Hussein – University of Greenwich

It’s a real page turner

Congratulations to all these student teachers and to their University tutors who supported their journeys as pedagogues and readers. Prizes are on the way!

More Awards

Waterstones Book Prize 2022

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize is an annual award given to a work of children’s literature published during the previous year.

Blue Peter Awards 2022

Announced in a special edition of Blue Peter, the 2022 winners of The Best Story and The Best Book of Facts were voted for by hundreds of primary school children around the UK, after shortlists had been drawn up by a panel of judges.