UKLA Book Awards 2021

The only national book awards judged by teachers! United Kingdom Literacy Association (UKLA) Book Awards are now in their 13th year.

The 2021 winners were announced virtually on July 1st alongside the result of the teacher’s Shadowing choices.

For the first time in this category the judges selected Joint Winners because both novels were considered so exceptional that both deserved the highest accolade.

Joint Winner 11- 14+ category:

Run Rebel written by Manjeet Mann (Penguin)ISBN: 978-0241411421)
The Last Paper Crane written by Kerry Drewery, illustrated by Natsko Seki. (Hot Key Books) ISBN: 978-1471408472

Winner 7-10+

Check Mates written by Stewart Foster (Simon & Schuster) ISBN: 978-1471172236

Highly Commended 7-10+ category

Owen and the Soldier written by Lisa Thompson, illustrated by Mike Lowery (Barrington Stoke) ISBN: 978-1781128657

Winner 3-6+ category

Look Up! Written by Nathan Bryon, illustrated by Dapo Adeola. (Puffin) ISBN: 978-0241345849

Highly Commended 3-6+

Tibble and Grandpa written by Wendy Meddour, illustrated by Daniel Egneus. (Oxford) ISBN: 978-0192771964

Winner Information Books 3-14+

The Undefeated written by Kwame Alexander, illustrated by Kadir Nelson. (Andersen Press) ISBN: 978-1783449293

Shadowing winners

3-6+ Look Up! (see above)

7- 10+   Joint Winners:

Check Mate (see above)

The Highland Falcon Thief By M.G.Leonard and Sam Sedgeman (Macmillan) ISBN: 978-1529013061

 11-14+ Clap When You Land Elizabeth Acevedo. (Hot Key) ISBN:978-1471409127

Information 3 -14+ The Undefeated (see above)

More Awards

Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize

First awarded in March 2017, the Jhalak Prize and its new sister award Jhalak Children’s & YA Prize founded in 2020, seek to celebrate books

Diverse Book Awards 2021

Created by award-winning author Abiola Bello and award-winning publicist Helen Lewis, co-founders of The Author School. “We want to highlight the best of the diverse

UKLA Book Awards 2022

The only national book awards judged by teachers! United Kingdom Literacy Association (UKLA) Book Awards are now in their 14th year. Teachers are looking for

Little Rebels Book Award 2022

 The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award, now in its 10th year, recognises children’s fiction (for readers aged 0-12) which promotes social justice or social equality,

Children’s Book Award 2022

The Children’s Book Award is the only national award voted for solely by children from start to finish. Over 1,000 new books are submitted to