The Farshore Reading For Pleasure 2021 Award Winners

The 2021 Farshore Reading for Pleasure Awards, run by Farshore in partnership with The Open University and UK Literacy Association, celebrated huge achievements amongst inspirational, dedicated individuals.

Launched in 2017, these awards aim to recognise teachers and schools whose research-informed practices make a real difference to children’s reading for pleasure.

We were delighted to see so many brilliant examples of practice, which you can download below. You can also watch the video of the night (below) to get the latest updates from Teresa Cremin and Cally Poplak, see author Jamila Gavin introducing each award, and hear from the winners themselves.

Winners 2021:

Early Career Teacher Award – Phoebe Lawton, The Wilmslow Academy, Cheshire
Reading for Pleasure in the ‘New Normal’

Experienced Teacher Award – Georgie Lax, Starcross Primary, Devon
The ‘Funnies’ and the ‘Feelies!’

Community Reading Champion Award – Jenny Holder
Reading: Bringing Us Together (Even When We’re Apart)

Community Reading Champion Award – Jill Queen
Developing a Reading Community at Netherburn

Whole School Award – Lapal Primary School, Halesowen submitted by Laura Atkinson
Developing Reading Communities

Whole School Award – Moorlands Primary Academy, Great Yarmouth submitted by Jon Biddle
Building on the Foundations

Highly Commended 2021

Experienced Teacher – Mary Jenkinson, St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Dinnington, Sheffield
Learn to Read – Read to Learn

Experienced Teacher – Cathie Whiting, Deb Johnson & Sharon Ealing, Coleshill Heath School, Birmingham
‘Reading Role Models’

Whole School – Lea Forest Primary Academy, Birmingham submitted by Craig Clarke
Becoming a ‘Lifetime Reader’ at Lea Forest Primary Academy

More Awards

Little Rebels Book Awards 2023

The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award, now in its 11th year, recognises children’s fiction (for readers aged 0-12) which promotes social justice or social equality,

The Week Junior Book Awards 2023 2023 sees the inaugural year of The Week Junior Book Awards sponsored by Bookily from National Book Tokens. Set up to “celebrate the brilliant