Please note you are using an unsupported web browser – please consider using

Sainsbury’s Book Awards 2021

Now in their eighth year, the Sainsbury’s Children’s Book Awards, run in partnership with BookTrust aim to highlight the best children’s books for families to share together. Judged by a panel of experts, the awards aim to encourage parents and carers to spend more time reading with their children.

Baby and Toddler

Winner: Sometimes Babies …. by Charlotte trounce. Nosy Crow ISBN: 978-1788008808)

Picture Book and Book of the Year

The Littlest Yak by Lu Fraser and Kate Hindley (Simon & Schuster ISBN: 978-1471182617) T


Twitch by M.G.Leonard. (Walker Books ISBN 978-1406389371)

Learning and Development

You are a Champion by Marcus Rashford and Carl Anka (Macmillan. ISBN: 978-1529068177)

Classic Award

Foxe’s Socks by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler (Macmillan ISBN 978-1529023473)

More Awards

YA Book Prize 2021

The YA Book Prize launched in 2014 to award a YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. Organised by book

UKLA Book Awards 2021

The only national book awards judged by teachers! United Kingdom Literacy Association (UKLA) Book Awards are now in their 13th year. The 2021 winners were

The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award 2021

The Little Rebels Children’s Book Award recognises children’s fiction (for readers aged 0-12) which promotes social justice or social equality, challenges stereotypes or is informed by anti-discriminatory concerns. The award is given by the Alliance of Radical Booksellers.

The Klaus Flugge Prize 2021

The Klaus Flugge Prize was established in 2016 and is funded personally by Klaus Flugge and run independently of Andersen Press, the publishing house which he founded in 1976, and which has published some of the most iconic picture books of all time such as Not Now Bernard, Tadpole’s Promise and Elmer.

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2021

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. Awarded by librarians annually, the Medal is the only prize in the UK to solely reward outstanding illustration in a children’s book.