The British Book Awards 2021

First launched in 1990 and now run by The Bookseller, the British Book Awards seek to showcase and celebrate the best books, the best bookshops and the best publishers.

Nicknamed The Nibbies, they are unique in recognising that a book’s success is not down to just one factor. It is the author’s creative genius, it is the publisher’s skill and support and it is the bookshop’s championing. The Nibbies’ Books of the Year are unapologetically about success but not ‘just’ who is top of the bestseller lists.

Winner- Children’s: Illustrated & Non-Fiction

Black and British – a short essential history by David Olusoga. ISBN: 978-1529063394 (Macmillan)




Winner-Children’s: Fiction

The Highland Falcon Thief (Adventures on Trains) by M.G.Leonard and Sam Sedgeman. Illustrated by Elisa Paganelli. ISBN: 978-1529013061 (Macmillan)



More Awards

Farshore Awards 2023 – now open!

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), are now open for entries.