The British Book Awards 2020

First launched in 1990 and now run by The Bookseller, the British Book Awards seek to showcase and celebrate the best books, the best bookshops and the best publishers.

In 2020 they celebrated 30 years of the awards with the winners due to be announced on 18 May 2020. The pandemic meant that they were not awarded until 29 June 2020.

Winner – Children's: Illustrated & Non-Fiction

The Smeds and The Smoos by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by Axel Scheffler. Alison Green Books. ISBN: 978-1407196657

Winner – Children's: Fiction

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson. Electric Monkey. ISBN: 978-1405293181

More Awards

Waterstones Book Prize 2022

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize is an annual award given to a work of children’s literature published during the previous year.

Blue Peter Awards 2022

Announced in a special edition of Blue Peter, the 2022 winners of The Best Story and The Best Book of Facts were voted for by hundreds of primary school children around the UK, after shortlists had been drawn up by a panel of judges.

©2015 - 2022 All Rights Reserved

Get our monthly RfP newsletter

Every month we send out an email of the latest news and resources for literacy professionals