Please note you are using an unsupported web browser – please consider using

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure 2021 Awards

Announcing the 2021 Farshore Awards in partnership with the Open University and the UK Literacy Association

Through the awards, Farshore (formerly Egmont Books) in partnership with The Open University and UK Literacy Association, aim to recognise teachers, reading champions and schools whose practices make a real difference to children’s RfP.

Now in our fourth year there are five award categories: Early Career Teacher, Experienced Teacher, Whole School Award and School Reading Champion and Community Reading Champion. The winner of each category will receive Farshore books to the value of £250 for their school, and there are 20 copies of Help Your Child Love Reading by Alison David to be won.

Last year’s winners and runners-up exemplified research-informed pedagogy and practice that ensured children had environments, time, resources and support to read for pleasure. Have a look at their case studies here.

This year’s judges are:

  • Joy Court, Reviews Editor: The School Librarian Journal
  • Teresa Cremin, Professor of Education, The Open University
  • Alison David, Consumer Insight Director, Farshore
  • Fiona Evans, Head of Schools Programmes, NLT
  • Jamila Gavin, Author of Coram Boy and The Wheel of Surya trilogy
  • Cally Poplak, Executive Publisher, Farshore
  • David Reedy, UK Literacy Association

Top tips from the judges:

  • Use all the criteria for the award
  • Explicitly reference research
  • Show the journey you have taken thus far
  • Evaluate the impact on children as readers: their pleasure , motivation and behaviours?
  • Consider diversity and inclusion
  • Observe the word count and include in the references e.g. from AIMS to REFLECTIONS the word count is…(Referencing, quotes, school information and category are all excluded from the count)
  • Present your submission professionally

The deadline for entries is midnight on Sunday 16th May 2021. The award winners will be announced in the Autumn 2021 at an OU/UKLA Reading for Pleasure conference (or online)

If you would like to apply read through the information leaflet on the awards (see downloads above right) which includes the Awards criteria and further information. Then go to our ‘share your practice’ page here to find the templates for submission (choosing either Word or Powerpoint version). Complete your submission, remembering to make it clear in the title which of the Farshore RfP Awards you are aiming for. To actually submit you will need to have registered as a member on the site (you can see where to do this on the share page, and also it can be found on the top right of every web page). If you are registering for the first time you will need to activate your account so look out for an email from us to complete this step (tip – sometimes this automated email goes into your junk or clutter folder so do search there too). Once you are registered refresh and you will be able to see a ‘Ready to share’ button on our ‘share your practice’ page. Click on that and follow the steps to upload your submission. Good Luck.

2020 Farshore winners can be viewed here.

In other news

OU RfP Newsletter LIVE!

Tuesday 7th December, 8pm – 9pm After the success of last year, we’re delighted to host another OU RfP Newsletter Live, a rapid-fire virtual event

Winners of this year’s Booknics

After a busy summer of ‘Booknic’-ing (picnicking with books), we received some wonderful photos of children and staff alike enjoying some dedicated al fresco reading

The Reading for Pleasure Awards 2021

An Evening to Celebrate Reading for Pleasure Please join us at this year’s virtual awards ceremony where we’ll be honouring some wonderful examples of reading