Gold Star Student Teachers Awards 2020

Highlighting the achievements of student teachers who are developing their RfP practice

This is the third year we have given Awards to Gold Star Student Teacher Examples of Practice.

The judges, Teresa Cremin, Isabel MacDonald, Roger McDonald and Karen Morris considered all the Examples of Practice that had been uploaded by Student Teachers to the Research Rich Pedagogies website in 2019-2020. They were impressed with the standard of these and the focused, determined and innovative ways student teachers had read the research, evaluated and enriched their own knowledge and practice, often tracking the impact of this on young readers. These young professionals are worth watching!

They following criteria were applied:

  • That the student teacher had enriched their knowledge and understanding through engaging with the Teachers as Readers research about developing children’s reading for pleasure;
  • That the student teacher had developed research informed practice that built on this;
  • That their development work had made an impact, usually, although not always, on children‘s reading for pleasure; 
  • That it was an innovative piece of work;
  • That the Example of Practice was visually engaging and professionally presented.

The Winners are:

Gold Reading for Pleasure Award

Lauren Young – IoE, University College London

Technology and reading amidst a pandemic 

Silver Reading for Pleasure Award

Andrew Davis – University of Roehampton

Roman Civilization and Reading 

Bronze Reading for Pleasure Award

Claire Tullis – University of Greenwich 

Reading is where the magic happens 

Highly Commended

Megan Doughty – University of Greenwich

Check Your Shelf Before You Wreck Yourself 

Alexandra Graham – Edge Hill University 

Whole School Advent Poe-Tree

Chloe Darriba – University of Roehampton

Literature in the Classroom

Kelsey Gale & Hollie Davy , University Of Greenwich

Reading between the Wines


Congratulations to all these student teachers and to their University tutors who supported their journeys as pedagogues and readers. Prizes are on the way! 

More Awards

Farshore Awards 2023 – now open!

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), are now open for entries.