Please note you are using an unsupported web browser – please consider using

Children’s Book Award 2020

The Children’s Book Award is the only national award voted for solely by children from start to finish. Over 1,000 new books are submitted to be read and reviewed by local Testing Groups across the country.

In this anniversary year there are four age category winners and an Overall Winner.

Younger Children: The Runaway Pea, written by Kjartan Poskitt and illustrated by Alex Willmore Simon & Schuster Children’s Books ISBN: 978-1471175251)

Younger Readers: Mutant Zombies Cursed My School Trip, written by Matt Brown and illustrated by Paco Sordo, Usborne (ISBN: 978-1474960236)

Older Readers and Overall Winner: D-Day Dog, written by Tom Palmer and published by Barrington Stoke (Barrington Stoke.ISBN 978-1781128688)

Older Readers: On The Come Up, written by Angie Thomas, Walker Books (ISBN: 978-1406372168) 

More Awards

Waterstones Book Prize 2022

The Waterstones Children’s Book Prize is an annual award given to a work of children’s literature published during the previous year.

Blue Peter Awards 2022

Announced in a special edition of Blue Peter, the 2022 winners of The Best Story and The Best Book of Facts were voted for by hundreds of primary school children around the UK, after shortlists had been drawn up by a panel of judges.