The Egmont Reading for Pleasure Awards 2020

Through the awards, Egmont Publishing in partnership with The Open University and UK Literacy Association, aim to recognise teachers and schools whose research-informed practices make a real difference to children’s reading for pleasure.

Now in its third year,  there are four award categories: Whole School Award, Experienced Teacher, Early Career Teacher and School Reading Champion. The winner of each category receives Egmont books to the value of £250 for their school and copies of Help Your Child Love Reading by Alison David.

The judges were the children’s author Jenny McLachlan, David Reedy from the UKLA, Teresa Cremin from the OU, Cally Poplak and Alison David from Egmont Publishing, Fiona Evans, National Literacy Trust and Joy Court, Reviews Editor: The School Librarian Journal

Today we are delighted to annouce the winners.

Whole School Award – Rochelle Richmond, Headteacher Sayes Court Primary & Nursery School, Surrey

Whole School Award video

Developing a Reading Community 

Experienced Teacher Award – Eve Vollans, Mayflower Community Academy, Plymouth

Experienced Teacher Award video

From ‘Beginners’ to ‘Bookish Bletherers’

Early Career Teacher Award– Nigel Lungenmuss-Ward, St Mary’s Primary Academy, Lowestoft

Early Career Teacher Award video

Online bedtime stories

School Reading Champion – Carol Carter, Headlands Primary School, Northampton

School Reading Champion award video

5 ways to use your School Library to build Reading Communities

Highly Commended 2020

Whole School – Nicola Mansfield-Niemi, Broughton Fields Primary School, Milton Keynes

Creating a love of books, beyond lessons and classrooms

Whole School – Claudia Cotton, Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool

Read, Learn, Live

Experienced Teacher – Hannah Marshall, Cottingley Primary Academy, Leeds

Creating a book-filled childhood

Early Career Teacher – Phoebe Lawton, The Wilmslow Academy, Wilmslow, Cheshire

Nurturing Reading for Pleasure

School Reading Champion – Nicki Cleveland, Cannon Park Primary School, Coventry

If You Want Children to Read for Pleasure, Show Them Why

Congratulations to all!

More Awards

Oscar’s Book Prize 2023

Oscar’s Book Prize is an annual prize for the best under-fives book of the year. The prize is awarded in memory of Oscar Ashton and

The British Book Awards 2023

First launched in 1990 and now run by The Bookseller, the British Book Awards seek to showcase and celebrate the best books, the best bookshops

Farshore Awards 2023 – now open!

The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2023, in association with The Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), are now open for entries.