Please note you are using an unsupported web browser – please consider using

Gold Star Student Teacher Awards

Announcing the Gold Star Student Teacher awards

This year is the first time we have given Awards to Gold Star Student Teacher Examples of Practice. Teresa Cremin of the Open University and Roger McDonald of the University of Greenwich considered all the 30 Examples of Practice that had been uploaded by Student Teachers to the Research Rich Pedagogies website in 2017-2018.

They applied the following criteria:

That the student teacher had enriched their knowledge and understanding through engaging with the Teachers as Readers research about developing children’s reading for pleasure;

That the student teacher had developed research informed practice that built on this;

That their development work had made an impact, usually, although not always, on children‘s reading for pleasure; 

That it was an innovative piece of work;

That the Example of Practice was visually engaging and professionally presented.

The Winners: 

Kathryn Holyland – The Reading Cinema – Canterbury Christ Church –

Nigel Lungenmuss-Ward – Inspiring Reading for Pleasure though Social Media – University of East Anglia –

Eilidh Douglas – That’s our Book! – UCL –

Highly Commended: 

Lauren Green – Talk about Texts – University of Hertfordshire –

Stephanie Dunn – Lunchtime Readers – Edge Hill –

Rebecca Jones – Little Bookworms Club – Edge Hill –

Congratulations to all these student teachers and to their University tutors who supported their journeys as pedagogues and readers. Prizes are on the way! 

More Awards

Digital Book Awards

Digital Book Awards

The Children’s Digital Book Award is the only award focused on children’s reading on screen and judged by teachers. It recognises innovation, creativity and excellence in digital book publishing.

Blue Peter Awards 2021

Announced on World Book Day in a special edition of Blue Peter, the 2021 winners of The Best Story and The Best Book of Facts were voted for by over 300 children from 12 participating schools around the UK, after shortlists had been drawn up by a panel of judges

The Branford Boase Award 2021

The Branford Boase Award was set up in memory of outstanding author Henrietta Branford and her editor Wendy Boase of Walker Books, who both died in 1999, and is unique in honouring editor as well as author.

The British Book Awards 2021

First launched in 1990 and now run by The Bookseller, the British Book Awards seek to showcase and celebrate the best books, the best bookshops and the best publishers.